Neuroscience tab


"We believe that a Neuroscience Prize is not only a timely addition to a field with the potential to dominate the century, but that in focusing on understanding this magnificent structure we call the brain, we will shine light on a field that has much to contribute for at least the next hundred years."

Peter Gruber, Chairman Emeritus and Co-Founder
The Gruber Foundation

The Neuroscience Prize honors scientists for major discoveries that have advanced the understanding of the nervous system.

The Prize, established in 2004, is an unrestricted cash award of $500,000, a gold medal inscribed with the recipient's name, and a citation describing the achievement for which the recipient is being honored. It is awarded each year to a person or persons chosen by a distinguished advisory board of neuroscience experts from nominations that are received from around the world.

2017 Gruber Neuroscience Prize

Joshua Sanes made groundbreaking discoveries about synapses, transforming our understanding of how the human brain functions.

2016 Gruber Neuroscience Prize

Mu-Ming Poo has made seminal discoveries regarding the molecular and cell mechanisms underlying synaptic plasticity in the brain