The Gruber Foundation Homepage

The Gruber Foundation honors individuals in the fields of Cosmology, Genetics, Neuroscience, Justice, and Women's Rights, whose groundbreaking work provides new models that inspire and enable fundamental shifts in knowledge and culture.

2011 marked the final Justice and Women's Rights Prizes of The Gruber Foundation, which has moved to Yale University, where the mission of its two human rights prizes have merged and transitioned into the Gruber Program for Global Justice and Women’s Rights. Click here to read the official press release for more information.

*Cosmology image credit: ESA and the Planck Collaboration - D. Ducros
*Neuroscience image credit: reprinted with permission from the Society for Neuroscience

2018 Neuroscience Prize Awarded

Ann M. Graybiel, Okihide Hikosaka and Wolfram Schultz are pioneers in the study of the structure, organization and functions of the basal ganglia. 


Justice and Women's Rights

A Yale University Program, The Gruber Program for Global Justice and Women's Rights is administered by Yale Law School.

2018 Genetics Prize Awarded

Joanne Chory & Elliot Meyerowitz helped revolutionize plant molecular biology, with implications for agriculture, the environment, and human health and disease.

Science Fellowship at Yale

Administered by the Graduate School,  the Gruber Science Fellowship is awarded to the most highly ranked applicants to Yale PhD programs in the life sciences, cosmology, and astrophysics.

2018 Cosmology Prize Awarded

The Planck Team, and PIs Mandolesi and Puget, made definitive measurements of the properties of our expanding universe.

Young Scientists Awards and Fellowships

The Gruber Foundation's Young Scientists Awards recognize the achievements of brilliant early-career scientists from around the world.

2019 Women's Rights Lecture

2019 Gruber Distinguished Lecture in Women's Rights

Dr. Natalia Kanem delivered the 2019 Gruber Distinguished Lecture in Women's Rights on March 4. 

Call for Nominations

Call for Nominations

Nominations to the 2019 Gruber Prizes are now closed.