Cosmology tab


"Cosmology is the most scientifically rigorous, aesthetically elegant, and the most poetic of the sciences."

Peter Gruber, Chairman Emeritus and Co-Founder
The Gruber Foundation

The Cosmology Prize honors a leading cosmologist, astronomer, astrophysicist or scientific philosopher for theoretical, analytical, conceptual or observational discoveries leading to fundamental advances in our understanding of the universe.

Since 2001, the Cosmology Prize has been cosponsored by the International Astronomical Union.

The Cosmology Prize acknowledges and encourages further exploration in a field that shapes the way we perceive and comprehend our universe. In doing so, The Gruber Foundation seeks to extend the pioneering legacy of, among others, Plato and Aristotle; Ptolemy and Copernicus; Brahe, Kepler, and Galileo; Newton and Halley; Einstein and Hubble.

The gold laureate pin and unrestricted $500,000 cash prize are presented annually.

2017 Gruber Cosmology Prize

Sandra Faber's work established many of the foundational principles underlying the modern understanding of the universe on the largest scales.

2016 Gruber Cosmology Prize

The work and persistence of DreverThorneWeiss, and the LIGO Discovery team led to the first detection of gravitational waves.  *Image Credit: SXS