2016 Gruber Cosmology Conference

On July 12, the 2016 Gruber Cosmology Prize was presented to

 Rainer Weiss, Kip Thorne, Ronald Drever, and the entire LIGO team

for pursuing a vision to observe the universe in gravitational waves, leading to a first detection that emanated from the collision of two black holes.

In celebration of the 2016 prize, The Gruber Foundation and the Yale Departments of Astronomy and Physics will host a one-day conference on Friday, October 7 at Yale, from 10:00 am to 5:00 pm. The conference will take place at the Yale School of Management (SOM), 165 Whitney Ave, Evans Hall Room 2400.

The schedule is:

    9:30-10:00am      Coffee

   10:00-10:10am    Introductory Remarks

LIGO : History, Status, Hardware
   10:10-10:50am: Peter Saulson (Syracuse University): The Pre-History of Gravitational Wave Detection.

   10:50-11:30am: Rainer Weiss (MIT, 2016 Prize Recipient): The LIGO project,the instrument and discovery and a                                    little about the future of our field

   11:30-12:10pm: Nergis Mavalvala (MIT): New directions in gravitational wave detection

   12:10 - 1:30pm      Lunch 

   1:35-2:15pm: Daniel Harlow (Harvard): Black Holes, Holography, and Quantum Information

   2:15-2:55pm: Kip Thorne (Caltech, 2016 Prize Recipient): Probing the Universe with Gravitational Waves

   2:55 - 3:30pm        Coffee

Theory & Future
   3:30-4:10pm: Manuela Campanelli (Rochester Institute of Technology): Black Hole Mergers, Gravitational Waves,                             and their Gaseous Environments

   4:10-5:00pm: Shep Doeleman (MIT): Resolving and Imaging Black Holes with the Event Horizon Telescope

Registration is free, but required for attendance. You must have an institutional affiliation to register. Registration is capped at 130 due to the size of the conference room.

Register here: http://bit.ly/2dmvCM0

We look forward to seeing you in New Haven!

  • Priyamvada Natarajan
  • Marla Geha
  • Nikhil Padmanabhan
  • Pieter van Dokkum
  • Meg Urry
  • A. Sarah Hreha

(for the organizing committee)