Skip to main content

Rosalind Franklin Young Investigator Award

The Gruber Foundation funds the Rosalind Franklin Young Investigator Award – a career development research award of $225,000 over three years - to two or three young woman geneticists from anywhere in the world. The annual $75,000 is split evenly between the two or three fellows. One award will fund genetics research in human and non-human mammals, and another will fund genetics research in model organisms. If a third award is made it may be given in either research area. This unrestricted cash award is presented every three years. The successful candidate must be in her first one to three years of an independent faculty-level position in any area of genetics.

The award, which honors the groundbreaking contributions of Dr. Rosalind Franklin, is intended to inspire and support new generations of women in the field of genetics. It is administered by a committee appointed by the Genetics Society of America (GSA).

For application information, see:

  • 2022 Aude Bernheim, Ph.D., INSERM
  • 2022 Kara McKinley, Ph.D., Harvard University
  • 2022 Viviane Slon, Ph.D.,Tel Aviv University
  • 2019 Bérénice Benayoun, Ph.D., University of Southern California
  • 2019 Molly Schumer, Ph.D., Stanford University
  • 2016 Maria Barna, Ph.D., Stanford University
  • 2016 Carolyn McBride, Ph.D., Princeton University
  • 2013 Mary Gehring, Ph.D., Whitehead Institute and MIT
  • 2013 Valerie Horsley, Ph.D, Yale University
  • 2010 Iiris Hovatta, Ph.D., University of Helsinki, Finland
  • 2010 Jue D. Wang, Ph.D, Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, Texas
  • 2007 Molly Przeworski, Assistant Professor, Department of Human Genetics, University of Chicago
  • 2004 Amy Pasquinelli, Assistant Professor of Biology, UCSD